Pontyberem RFC | 1st Team 45 - 8 Tumble RFC | 1st Team
Darren Williams
1 Try
Mitchell Jones
1 Penalty

Match Report
31 December 2018 / Team News

Bont gain revenge with Derby Day win

A young Tumble side made the short journey down Cwm Gwendraeth on Saturday to face an in-form Pontyberem side keen to avenge the 20-3 defeat they suffered at Parc y Mynydd Mawr earlier in the season. Unfortunately, the Magpies found Bont in an unforgiving mood and could not prevent the home side running out winners by a margin of 45-8.

Tumble’s points came through a Darren Williams try after 14 minutes when he powered over the line following a rolling maul from the Magpies pack. The conversion was missed but outside half Mitch Jones did add a penalty goal just before the interval to make the score line 21-8 to the home side at half time.

It was obvious watching the game that the Magpies are playing short of confidence and a win would be a massive shot in the arm for a side that hasn’t gained a victory since beating Bont back in September. There is talent and ability within the side they are just lacking a bit of experience and obviously the confidence that comes with winning. There was a marked contrast here between the two sides on Saturday as Pontyberem have a number of highly experienced players forming the spine of their side and inspiring the youngsters around them. What can’t be faulted however was the attitude of the players who kept at the task all afternoon and were actually putting pressure on the Pontyberem try line when the final whistle sounded. Show the same attitude in coming games and with players coming back from injury to strengthen the squad then that victory must surely come.

Next up for the Magpies are Loughor RFC at Parc y Mynydd Mawr on Saturday, let’s get a good support over the park to back the boys and hopefully inspire a much-needed victory.  Kick-off is at 2.30pm.


Try – Darren Williams

Penalty – Mitch Jones


15. Scott Jones, 14. Mike Edwards, 13. Steffan Price, 12. Owain Williams, 11. Dean Beamish, 10. Mitch Jones, 9. Iwan Morgan; 1. Callum Williams, 2. Rhys Lewis, 3. Kieran Richards, 4. Nathan Willard, 5. Ryan Lewis, 6. Darren Williams, 7. Steffan Owen (captain), 8. Liam Willard; Subs - 16. Sam Cavill, 17. Steven Rees, 18. Steffan Davies, 19. Gareth Armstrong, 20. Jonny Lloyd.

Ymlaen Y Piod


There doesn't appear to be any tagged photos.

Upload and Tag Photos